image of shady figure in hoodie with question mark for face

Delete search history

How to delete search history and be anonymous online

Your browsing history is an account of everything you look up online that your browser stores on your device while your online.

The aim of your internet history is to improve your online experience. This search history includes info you’ve entered on forms, passwords, and websites you’ve visited. However, if you’re using a shared or public computer, you might not want your searches saved to history. 

Your search history is also stored by your internet service provider. These records get directly accredited to your IP Address, and your internet service provider knows exactly what you do online and when.

Quick Guide to delete your internet search history

Chrome > preferences> advanced >privacy & security >Content settings >Cookies

Explorer >tools >internet options >General >browsing history >settings

Firefox >Tools >options >privacy tab >show cookies

Opera >Tools >Preferences >Advanced tab >cookie section

Safari >Preferences >Privacy tab.

What is an IP address?

Every computer, phone, tablet or even smart watch has an IP address. An IP address is a distinctive set of numbers that identify you and your device on the Internet. The IP address has info about your real-time location and your Internet service provider. This information can expose more data such as name, address, phone number, credit card number and browsing history. To find out more about what is an IP address? Click here.

If your internet connection isn’t secure this data is vulnerable to hackers who would either use or sell it on the dark web. Other cyber criminals then buy your data for illegal activities like fraud, identity Theft or to steal directly from your bank accounts or worse.

If you value your privacy then PrivateVPN is the best solution for online security. VPN stands for Virtual Private Network; a software you connect to and it hides your IP address and prevents websites from sending you cookies. These cookies get sent instead to the VPN server you connected to, and this means you have no Internet search history. Your internet history is just blank, even your internet service provider cannot see what you look up online.

Can you completely clear your search history?

Everything you lookup online, every single social media post, every news article, funny meme and ultimately every action you take online leaves behind a digital footprint.

These digital footprints take the form of your browsing history, cache data or cookies. If you don’t intend people to find what you’re doing online, erase this data when you close the browser. When you erase this data, it erases logs of sites you visited, words and phrases you’ve searched for. cached images or videos, cookies, records of downloads and Autofill form data such as usernames, passwords, etc..

To delete search history is not enough!

Unfortunately, clearing your browser history and cookies deletes references to these websites from your directory, but not the operating system. The operating system just moves the information to a separate section of your hard drive. Even finding and deleting these files isn’t final. They can recover the deleted files using a recovery tool. These recovery tools are commonly available and originally for maintenance. 

If you connect to the internet via PrivateVPN, you need not worry because there is NO internet history and no cookies, you will be completely anonymous and unaccountable online!

Private browsers

What is a private browser? When you click to open a website, that website sends you cookies and these cookies try to identify you and your preferences. There are many types of cookies, some good, some bad, some only recording basic material and others recording large amounts of your information. They want to track your every movement online to build a profile of you so they know what you want before you do.

Private browsers are a browser that’s not tracked or advertised to online. You can opt into the ethical online advertising option or opt out. This means you can browse privately without record online. Combining a private browser with PrivateVPN gives an absolute anonymity online. 

A VPN changes my location?

Once you connect to your VPN, it automatically changes your IP address and location to anywhere in the world with a single click.

While connected to PrivateVPN your internet traffic funnels through the VPN. This means that when a site sends you cookies, they send those cookies to the IP address of the VPN. Effectively the cookies are being sent to nowhere and never being saved. Nobody can track you online, and it encrypts your location and data.

The problem with some Internet Service Providers (ISP)

The trouble with Internet service providers is they trace and track your activity. Your ISP tracks things like websites you visited, devices you use, your location, and all the data you view even in private browsing mode! These ISP’s generate a profile on you using this obtained information and their own records.

The problem is this information can get used for marketing objectives but also requested by governments or law enforcement agencies, big business and other third parties.

This is just one reason that a VPN is so important these days, because while connected to a VPN they associate the activity with the VPN’s IP address not your IP address. This could be a server anywhere around the world, so they report a connection from the VPN server location. 

Conclusion

Deleting your search history removes some record of your online activity but consider installing a private browser and a VPN for full security and protection online. 

One thought on “How to delete search history

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *